The federal government has approved the establishment of 12 private universities

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approved the provisional licenses to establish 12 private universities across the country.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, made this known to newsmen at the State House at the end of a parliamentary session chaired by President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday in Abuja.

He said the affected universities would be located in Gombe State, Niger State, Kano State, Abia State, Delta State, Sokoto State, Anambra State, and Abuja (FCT.

He added that “The legislature has accepted the temporary permission to establish 12 private universities.

“Private universities to be targeted include Pen Resource University Gombe, Gombe State, Al-Ansar University, Maiduguri, Borno State, Margaret Lawrence I-Delta State University, and Jami ‘ ar Khalifa Ishaku Rabiu Kano, Kano State.

Idumuje Ugboko University of Sports, Delta State, Bala Ahmed Kano University, Salsa University of Science and Technology Sokoto, Nigerian-British Hasa University, Abia State, and Peter Acina-Online University, State Anambra, and Newgate University in Minna. Niger State, the European University of Nigeria in Dubai, Abuja, and Northwestern University and Sokoto. ”

Mohammed said the application was submitted by the Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, on behalf of the National Universities Commission and approved by the Cabinet.

According to him, each new university will have the guidance of the old universities nearby.

He said the establishment of more universities in a country with a population of 200 million was necessary if the goal of educating the largest percentage of the youth was to succeed.

Similarly, the FEC has approved the Federal Capital Territory, FCT, to reconsider the total contract cost of extending the southern highway, from the main road south to the south highway.

Mohammed, who is contesting for the post of Federal Capital Territory Minister, said the increase was N1.4 billion.

He said the contract increase would increase from N17 billion to N18.5 billion, which would be completed in 12 months.

The Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, also disclosed that the House had approved N36.1 billion for the rehabilitation of the Keffi-Nasarawa-Toto road in Nasarawa State.

He said: “The Ministry of Works and Housing has submitted an approval for the building of the 118.9 Keffi-Nasarawa-Toto road in Nasarawa State and the pact has been accepted for N36.130 billion.”

The minister also said that the 11th executive order signed by President Buhari would help improve the lives of all government buildings.

According to the minister, Nigerians are benefiting greatly from the Executive Order, adding that this is the first time the Nigerian government has implemented a national policy.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *